Odense Triple for Team VICTOR


Team VICTOR enjoyed a day of success in the finals of Denmark Open Superseries Premier on Sunday, where Korean pairings Lee Yong Dae/Yoo Yeon Seong, Jung Kyung Eun/Shin Seung Chan, Ko Sung Hyun/Kim Ha Na all snatched the golds. Ko and Kim defeated another VICTOR duo, mixed doubles World Champions Tontowi Ahmad and Liliyana Natsir for the second Superseries win after the 2014 Australian Open, while this became Ahmad/Natsir’s fourth straight runner-up finish in this tournament.
Denmark Open is one of the only five Superseries Premier events every season, with the big points on offer paving ways for Rio. The winners this week will earn 11,000 points, which is only second to the World Championships on the professional BWF Tour.
Jung and Shin, who regularly partner Kim and Lee So Hee respectively, had become a new women’s doubles force recently at the VICTOR Korea Open when they reached the semifinals. They followed their good form this week, outplaying Japan’s world no.1 Misaki Matsutomo/Ayaka Takahashi and 7th seeds Reika Kakiiwa/Miyuki Maeda before gifted a walkover from China’s Tian Qing/Zhao Yunlei in the final to take their first Tour victory together. It marks Jung’s second Superseries triumph, after claiming the 2012 India Open title alongside Kim, and Shin’s first.
With this win, Ko (check out Ko's AW new footwear SH-A930) and Kim are projected to move to back from 6th to 5th, their high ranking set in February, in the BWF rankings to be released on Thursday. Jung and Shin, counting on only their fifth tournament, will be surging into the top 45. Lee and Yoo will enter their 63rd week on top. They started the partnership right here in Odense in 2013 and rose to the no.1 spot last year in August.
Ko Sung Hyun, Kim Ha Na, Denmark Open
Ko Sung Hyun (L) and Kim Ha Na celebrate after beating another VICTOR pair of Tontowi Ahmad and Liliyana Natsir for their second career Superseries win. © Badmintonphoto
Final Results of Denmark Open 2015:
Denmark Open badminton
Lee Yong Dae, Yoo Yeon Seong, Denmark Open
Lee Yong Dae (L) and Yoo Yeon Seong captured fifth title of the season, and third in a row. © Badmintonphoto
Denmark Open Badminton, Shin Seung Chan, Jung Kyung Eun
Shin Seung Chan (L) and Jung Kyung Eun scored their biggest win together as they beat the world no.1 team of Takahashi/Matsutomo in round of 16 at the Denmark Open. © Badmintonphoto
( Edit by VICTOR Badminton )